top of page

Event: ICMGLT Webinar, February 12, 1:00 PM EST

Reparative Justice III: Difficulties in Listening to and Hearing Traumatized Witnesses / Victims / Survivors

Monday, 12 February 2024, 1:00-3:00PM EST / 6:00-8:00PM GMT / 7:00-9:00PM CMT / 8:00-10:00PM EET & IST


This International Center for the Study, Prevention and Treatment of MultiGenerational Legacies of Trauma webinar series is held in collaboration with Project Sunflowers. It is a third in a series, following I: a conceptual introduction to reparative justice and II. key groups of traumatized victims. Today’s webinar will focus on elements of the conspiracy of silence ubiquitously present after trauma, harmful both to the victims and society. Whereas society has a moral obligation to share its members’ pain, professionals and investigators of all related disciplines have, in addition, a professional, contractual obligation. When we fail to listen, explore, understand, and help, we too inflict the “trauma after the trauma”, or “the ‘second injury’ to victims” by maintaining and perpetuating the conspiracy of silence. The webinar will report and elaborate on findings detailing the multiple ways professional listening is compromised and its implications to reparative justice.  Participants are urged to view the earlier webinars on this series prior to attending this one.


Ukrainian-English interpretation will be provided.


Register here. Find more information at ICMGLT's website here.

18 views0 comments
bottom of page